Project Info

Project Description

Caprice was written for Flautist Helen Blackburn and the West Texas A&M University Symphonic band in January of 2013. The work is unified through a classic form and a contemporary pre-compositional pitch limitation. This novel limitation is realized in scalar form, like most other scales, as a repeating series of whole and half-steps. Specifically, Caprice’s scale is based on two whole-steps followed by one half step. Starting on a C, the scale would be realized thusly- C, D, E, F, G, A, Bb, C, D, Eb, F, G, Ab, Bb… Scales such as these are unique in the regard that they are “non-octave repeating”. Therefore instruments encounter unusual harmonic implications based on their range in the scale. This limitation is layered with a Classical concerto form employing a double exposition, first from the band then by the flute, followed by a development, recapitulation, cadenza, and short coda. Baroque influences include a quasi chorale-prelude melody and a fugue all realized with a neo-tonal aesthetic through the use of rhythm and the implications of the non-octave repeating scale.

Path to Polaris
  1. Path to Polaris
  2. Symphony No. 3, Gödel, Escher, Bach
  3. Isabella Air
  4. Dreams in the Dusk – Band
  5. Dreams in the Dusk – TTB
  6. Caprice
  7. El Symbola Zia